Questions raised on Virat Kohli's 48th ODI century, umpire Cattlebro created controversy by not giving wide
Virat Kohli scored the 48th century of his ODI career in the World Cup match against Bangladesh on Thursday, but some questions are being raised about his innings.
World Cup 2023 Team India is continuously performing well. In its last match, the Indian team had won against Bangladesh by 7 wickets. This was India's fourth consecutive victory in the World Cup. India continuously remains in the top 4 in the World Cup points table. India's star batsman Virat Kohli scored the 48th century of his ODI career in the World Cup match against Bangladesh, but some questions are being raised about his innings.
In this match, India needed two runs to win and Virat needed three runs to get a century. Bangladesh spinner Nasum Ahmed bowled the ball, which was going outside the leg stump, Kohli thought that the umpire would declare the ball wide, but on-field umpire Richard Cattlebrough did not give it wide. Due to the umpire's decision, Kohli got a chance to complete his century and he completed his century after two balls by hitting a six.
According to former international umpire Vinayak Kulkarni, in normal circumstances in ODI, the ball is wide when it pitches outside the leg stump, but there is a condition. If the striker does not move from his position, the ball going outside the leg stump is also not declared wide. In this match, Virat had moved toward the off-side before Nasum bowled the ball.
Umpire Cattelbro is being criticized for ensuring that Kohli completes his century. Therefore, he did not even give wide to the ball outside the leg stump.